Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Trans Me And DID

My life with Dissociative Identity Disorder

I made a movie about my life being trans and having Dissociative Identity Disorder.

CW: transphobia, disordered eating, SA, hospitalization

If you want to read along, the full text, photos, and deleted scenes can be found here.

A few things to leave clear (spoilers, but also helpful if you don’t want to feel confused)

  • My diagnosis is Dissociative Identity Disorder. The subcategory is Tertiary Structural Disorder, in which “I” am composed of Apparently Normal Parts (ANPs) and Emotional Parts (EPs).

  • While other forms of DID involve a Primary identity who negotiates control of their body with secondary and tertiary identities, I am not the Primary.

  • My name, ironically, is Prime. But that’s just the name of the person you’re talking to right now— most of the time you’re not talking to me. I’m just one of thirteen people who share different parts of our body, memories, and experiences.

  • Michael was a real person, but in order to never be alone, we internalized a reflection of their kindness into a protective identity named Michelle.

  • All thirteen of us are: Daisy, Cookie, Zoe, Winnie, Prime, Connie, Memory, Ace, Kameron, Marcie, Page, Michelle, Aries

  • You can say hello to any of us in particular, but for our safety, most of us won’t often be able to respond

We stayed in three main hospitals:

For further reading about those hospitals, please check out:

For further viewing, here are a few movies and documentaries about life inside (and outside) mental health facilities and the experience of having DID:

  • Without Consent

  • Out of Sight, Out of Mind

  • Of Two Minds

  • Girl, Interrupted

  • Identity

  • Shutter Island

  • Split/Glass

  • Daniel Isn’t Real

  • Star Wars: Darth Vader

  • Fight Club

  • Psycho

  • The Incredible Hulk

  • The MCU: Moon Knight

  • The Flash (CW): Caitlin Snow/Killer Frost/Khione

For two more people besides me with DID, check out these two YouTube channels:

For further reading on DID, check out:

Thank you to my Patreon producers JL Lycette and Brent Hearn.

Video footage provided courtesy of DeconJon Aran via Pexels.

A final message to my therapist from the mental health institution

Dear Sharon,

I don’t know if you’ll ever see this. I just wanted to put this out there. I just wanted to tell you I finally got out.

And I don’t just mean I got out in the way I wanted. I got out in the way you hoped would one day happen for me.

I understand why I was sick. I understand what kept me in the same prison as the rest of my family.

Thank you for everything you did to help me.

I finally found the family that makes me feel like I’m home ❤

Queer History with Step-Hen-ie is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Queer History with Step-Hen-ie
Translating Everything with the Cool Trans Mom Podcast
Pop culture, news, politics, and the science of storytelling through the lens of a cool trans mom
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Stephenie Magister